November 22nd, Year of the Moon

Give me more than waiting in a hotel lobby for someone interesting to change my life. Give me more than the fear that the only man I will ever love, will die in a car crash. Give me more than the disappointment of absinthe. Give me more than the shy confession of an allegiance to Odin. Give me more than a thousand daily fantasies. Give me more than drum circle meditations, that invite Buddha on a bad day. Give me more than year-old holy water, kept in a plastic bottle. Give me more than a trigger happy police officer eyeing a black man. Give me more than a faerie coming along, pissing on my sunflower. Give me more than a cracked windshield and a flat tire. Give me more than the ants that use my computer more than I do. Give me more than crooked lips, and a wonky eye. Give me more than a dry lake and a garden snake. Give me more than an allergy to aloe vera and an aversion to milk breath. Give me more than bruises and pointy elbows. Give me more than yoga at midnight and dry paint bottles. Give me more than two dollars and bland rice bowls. Give me more than my freckles that form the map to Atlantis. Give me more than small breasts and adolescent hips. Give me more than a bent mailbox key and Scientology correspondence. Give me more than the lies I tell my priest, just so I can be near him. Give me more than shower fresh antiperspirant and pink underwear, that was once a vibrant red. Give me more than the man who wants to fuck me, but can’t get my name right. Give me more than psychopathic politicians and a neighbor who no longer bakes me cookies. Give me everything, and keep the rest.

November 22nd, Year of the Moon

Leave a Reply

